skip to Main Content

On Tuesday 25th June, at Gathurst Golf Club, near Wigan, we became the most successful school in the history of Lancashire Schools Golf Team Championships, by winning the trophy for a fourth time. With previous wins in 2005, 2009 and 2010, we have now won the championship more than any other school, and with four wins in 11 years, we are enjoying an unprecedented period of dominance of Lancashire schools golf.

The team of Will Hughes, Kirsty McIntyre and Matt Wood beat teams from Cardinal Langley, Baines and Cannon Slade to once again be crowned Lancashire Champions. As well as winning the fantastic trophy shown above, and the coveted title of County Champions, the team now progresses to play in the National Schools Finals at Woodhall Spa, “Home of National Golf”, on Wednesday 8th July. I’m sure you will all wish them the best of luck in their hunt for more silverware!

And as if the above success was not enough for her, Kirsty McIntyre has now also been crowned Lancashire Girls Individual
Stroke Play Champion!! At Chorley golf club, on Wednesday 1st July (the hottest day for a decade!), Kirsty battled against both the sweltering conditions and the rest of the field, to return the best nett score of the day of 68, and be the only female player in the field to shoot in the 60s. Whilst all around her were losing their heads in the balmy conditions, Kirsty kept her cool to plot her way round the testing course and complete a fantastic double crowning of Lancashire Individual Stroke Play and Team Stableford Champion.
And this is not even the end of her trophy winning! Along with Will Hughes, fellow Team Stableford Champion from last week, Kirsty was runner up in the Team Strokeplay Championship, missing out by just 1 shot to the eventual winners, Queen Elizabeth Grammar School from Blackburn.

In anyone’s language, that’s got to go down as a pretty successful week, so let’s all keep our fingers crossed and wish them the best of luck in their bid to continue their winning streak at the upcoming National Team Championships.

Back To Top